Thursday, May 21, 2020

Great Gatsby Essay - 702 Words

â€Å"Is Tom most responsible for Gatsby’s death? Daisy? Myrtle? Gatsby himself? Give reasons why or why not each character is implicated in the murder.† Great Gatsby Essay There are five people that are responsible for Jay Gatsby’s death. One of them is directly to blame, since he pulled the trigger. The other three were involved in the murder. The one who pulled the trigger was George Wilson. He was in pain because of the murder of his wife. He loved her, and he was completely insane with grief. Wilson thought that Gatsby was Myrtles lover. He said, â€Å"She ran out to speak to him and he wouldn’t stop† (Fitzgerald 166). This means that Wilson thinks that Myrtle knew the owner of the yellow car. Since Wilson had found out†¦show more content†¦I think he realizes that his presumptuous little flirtation is over† (Fitzgerald 142). Myrtle is the fourth person responsible for Gatsby’s death. If she was not having an affair with Tom then none of this would have happened. Myrtle was taking advantage of her husband’s kindness and his lack of intelligence, â€Å"A white ashen dust veiled his dark suit and his pale hair as it veiled everything in the vicinity-except his wife, who moved close to Tom† (Fitzgerald 30). if her affair with Tom was non-existent then George would not have known who Gatsby was and he might not have shot him to avenge his wife’s murder. If Myrtle had not run in front of the car that she would still be alive and so would Gatsby. She could have just waited until the next day to see Tom she did not have to run in front of his car. Gatsby himself is the fifth person to blame for his death. If he was not trying to restore his old relationship with Daisy then Tom would not want to get revenge on him. Another reason that Gatsby is responsible for his own death is that forgot everything except Daisy. He did not think about anything except Daisy. He also should not have kept driving after Daisy hit Myrtle. After he pulled the brake he could have gone back to see if Myrtle was alive and to get help for her, â€Å"I tried to make her stop but she couldn’t so I pulled on the emergency brake. Then she fell over into my lap and I drove on† (Fitzgerald 151) He only threwShow MoreRelatedThe Great Gatsby Essay936 Words   |  4 PagesThe Great Gatsby Essay By- Happy Bhoombla English- 3A Date-9/28/10 The Great Gatsby, written by F. Scott Fitzgerald, is a story about a wealthy man named Gatsby. Gatsby lives a luxuriant life in West Egg of New York. Gatsby’s wealth has an unknown secret because nobody seems to know where his wealth emerged from. Despite of having so much fortune, Gatsby’s true American dream has not been achieved. In the great Gatsby F. Scott Fitzgerald develops Gatsby as a failed American dream to show theRead More Essay on The Great Gatsby1120 Words   |  5 PagesEssay on The Great Gatsby The Great Gatsby is a novel about a man who tries to win over a woman he had lost many years ago. Jay Gatsby is the hero in this novel because he stands out amongst the rich. Unlike the rest of the rich people in this novel Gatsby has moral values, and the rest of them can only grasp things of material value. Gatsby spends his whole life trying to hide the fact that he wasn’t like the others. Gatsby never fits in among them because what he perceives of them is allRead MoreEssay on The Great Gatsby1254 Words   |  6 PagesIn Class Essay To what extent is The Great Gatsby a moral novel. Discuss. The society our nation lives in today has developed morals and principles through the lessons experienced from the past. The Roaring Twenties was a time of change and a chance to pave a path for the person you wanted to become. Morals and principles served as guidelines rather than rules and were merely preached that practiced. Thus, the severity of the immoral actions taking place created opportunities for lessons to beRead MoreEssay The Great Gatsby2606 Words   |  11 PagesThe Great Gatsby The Great Gatsby belongs to what Harold Bloom tags the â€Å"tomb† of literary archetypes, a family of fiction that espouses every facet of the expressive use of language (everything from Shakespeare’s plays to Dickens’ prose). As a participant in this tomb, The Great Gatsby has adopted a convenient persona in the world of twentieth century literature as â€Å"the great American novel,† a work that embodies the American thematic ideals of the self-made man, the great AmericanRead More Symbolism in The Great Gatsby Essay867 Words   |  4 PagesGatsby Essay Symbols are objects, characters, figures, or colors used to represent abstract ideas or concepts. For example, a dove is usually used to represent peace. In the novel The Great Gatsby, written by F. Scott Fitzgerald, Fitzgerald uses a lot of symbolism to connect the characters with each other or to other objects. Fitzgerald’s use of symbolism helps advance his thematic interest in his novel of The Great Gatsby. In the Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald uses various colors, objectsRead More Materialism in The Great Gatsby Essay1075 Words   |  5 Pagesduring the 1920s, the setting of F. Scott Fitzgeralds The Great Gatsby. That the majority of Americans believe that wealth and happiness are the same is a result of our market economy that encourages consumption and conditions us to think that we need material possessions to be happy. According to Andrew Bard Schmookler, Wealth and human fulfillment have become equated in the predominant ideology of liberal society, even though the great spiritual teachers of humanity have all taught otherwise.Read More Contrasts in the Great Gatsby Essay760 Words   |  4 PagesTyler Simms Great Gatsby Essay Accelerated English 11 Mrs. Cameron F. Scott Fitzgerald constructed his novel, The Great Gatsby, by sculpting numerous situation and character contrasts together through out the novel to create and deliver a magnificent work of art. Although Fitzgerald contrasted numerous characters and situations through out the novel, there are three that are very pungent; the characters Tom Buchanan and George Wilson and Daisy Buchanan and Myrtle Wilson. Not only wereRead More The Great Gatsby Essay1109 Words   |  5 PagesThe Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald portrays American society in the 1920’s after WWI has just ended, a decade of unprecedented economic prosperity. In the book, Fitzgerald critiques the loss of moral values and the degradation of American society, symbolizing it as a â€Å"valley of ashes—a fantastic farm where . . . ashes take the forms of houses and chimneys and rising smoke† (Fitzgerald 23). Through the characters of the book, Fitzgerald exposes the American dream from behind its d azzling veilRead MoreGreat Gatsby Essay971 Words   |  4 Pagesmajor part of people’s characteristics in the 1920’s ‘easy money’ era because of the great economic boom. During this era, people earned their money by corruption with smuggling alcohol during prohibition. In addition, people earned their money by people unknowingly investing in major stocks. A few people earned their money with hard work; it was mostly made easily for them. Throughout the novel, The Great Gatsby, written by F. Scott Fitzgerald, the shallowness and hollowness of the upper class isRead MoreEssay on The Great Gatsby1404 Words   |  6 Pagesnouveaux riches often clashed with the established wealth, as evident throughout F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby. Fitzgerald’s narrator, Nick Carraway, suddenly finds himself submerged in the paper-thin morals, and shallow values of upper-class New York after migrating from the Western interior. Throughout the novel, Nick is highly cynical of American society. Thus, The Great Gatsby is Fitzgerald’s means of criticizing the worsening family structure of American society, the newfound materialistic

Wednesday, May 6, 2020

Don’T You Ever Wish You Know What That Feeling In Your

Don’t you ever wish you know what that feeling in your gut was - or how hard it is to try not to blow up on the slow person walking in front of you in the grocery store, or if your friend is having a bad day but keeps saying â€Å" I m fine, I m fine.† What your friend does not probably realize is that it can affect the people around, might even make your day bad too. What I found really interesting is Emotional Intelligence. If you never heard of emotional intelligence it is the ability to identify your emotions, understand what you feet and others around you, manage good relationships with the people in your everyday life. Howard Gardner said â€Å"Your EQ is the level of your ability to understand other people, what motivates them and how to†¦show more content†¦Goleman suggests that emotional intelligence has four pieces - self awareness, social awareness, self management and relationship management. Some important elements of emotional intelligence agree that a combination of emotional intelligence and conventional intelligences, such as linguistic, mathematical, scientific to have good qualities of leadership. Having good emotional intelligence usually means you have good self-awareness. Most people even, according to Mind tools article, â€Å"Emotional Intelligence Developing Strong People Skills. Self awareness is the most important part of emotional intelligence. Benefits of having good self-awareness is most times your emotions do not get out of control. If you are good at understanding what you feel, it is usually easier to not let them control you. Having good intuition can sometimes even help having a stronger emotional intelligence. Honestly comes in handy with being aware with yourself. Being aware of what presses your buttons or your areas that have weakness is good, So you can avoid those problems. People with high emotional intelligence most times are confident with themselves, and what they know they feel and trust those feelings. Page 3 Next, major part of emotional intelligence is self- regulation and/or self- management. Which means if someone or something does make you angry or mad or sad you can control what your feeling and say â€Å" hey maybe I need to takeShow MoreRelatedHow Can You Help You?978 Words   |  4 PagesThere are many things that I needed to say to you that I’ve never been able to. I don’t know how you’re going to react or what you’re going to think, but it’s gotten to the point where things have gone on as they are long enough. I use the gift for writing to convey messages that I need to get across. If nothing else, know that I’m shaking uncontrollably as I write this message. I care very deeply for you, Jenny. It’s something, I haven’t felt for a woman in several years. I can’t put my finger onRead MorePersuasive Essay About Love1171 Words   |  5 Pagesâ€Å"Shut up†, â€Å"Youre so stupid†, â€Å"Why cant you do anything right?†. These, these are the words I hear every day. These words haunt whats left of my meaning less existence. I wish they cared about what they are doing.How can they be so blind not to see what theyre doing? How can they be so oblivious to the situation? You know it never used to be this way. Once I was happy, and they were too. Before I was born my grandmother told me stories of how they were so in love and how they couldnt standRead MoreEssay On Why I Think You Think I DonT Want To Date You1061 Words   |  5 PagesWhy I think you Think I dont want to date you And Why Your not ready To date Me. If you read this we will Never be the same again. At the end of the day your reason or reasons are yours and yours alone But if it makes you happy ill play along. My personal appearence: In the back of my mind theres always the thought of you dont want to be with me because im either too black or too fat. One is something that can be changed and the other cant be but theres also the mind set of you thinking aboutRead MoreMy Best Friend Essay1044 Words   |  5 PagesFREE Have you ever lost a really good friend or a best friend? Ever want to speak up, but you didn’t? Last year I was that person. The girl that didn’t really have any other friends, but you wanted to. In the story, I am not going to say the girls name for her privacy and her privacy only. I wish I had spoken up sooner then I had. Before this had happened, I was in a really bad place. I was really depressed most the time, but I acted like everything was okay. I put on a smile like people put onRead MoreI Can t Not Just Because Essay936 Words   |  4 PagesI won’t ever find someone who makes me feel the way I did for you. It’s stupid, my way of thinking. I’m still stupid enough to keep harboring these feelings for you, and that’s my problem. How am I supposed to move on when everything I see and do reminds me of you? I’m so fucked in the head. The most ironic thing of all is that I think this will be the most difficult breakup I will ever go through, and we never even went out. I can truthfully say that I have loved every moment with you to theRead MoreMy Memories Of My Life Essay1740 Words   |  7 PagesMy grandpa showed me that life is too short and to always be there for family no matter what happens. Death is really hard to get over for a lot of people. Most people look shocked and don’t have anything to talk about afterward. When I was six years old I lost a special person in my life. The feeling of losing a loved one is very hard to get through. The day I found out that my grandpa had died it was one of the saddest moments in my life. It hurt me because I miss him so much since he passed awayRead MoreA Letter About The Letter1264 Words   |  6 Pagesâ€Å"You should read the letter.† Colleen said as she opened the door to her motel room, closer to where Maison had parked then Maison’s room. â€Å"You might change your mind about him deserving better.† â€Å"You read a personal letter?† Maison was offended, the battered letter tucked into their pocket. They would never read something so personal if it was left in their care, well, if Sam had asked them not to. They may be nosey, but there was a line that needed to be drawn. â€Å"I didn’t read it, but I talkedRead MoreI Am Writing The Entire Thing1553 Words   |  7 PagesI’m writing you this letter and I want you to read the entire thing. I figured that I should write this instead of tell you because I’d probably forget things if I was talking and we would probably end up arguing. I feel like lately all of our conversations are very aggressive and not actually conversations. Also, I feel like whenever I try to really express what I’m feeling and you don’t agree with it, you shut me down. I don’t know if you realize that you do it, but you do and it hurts and makesRead More The Idea Of Romantic Love Essay1200 Words   |  5 Pagesbrought up on romantic love. Is this true in your experience? If so write a paper on which you first define this amorphous concept and then discuss how you came about it. For eg. Have you been influenced by media, T.V., movies in particular. Conclude by stating whether you believe i n romantic love or have cast of the idea. â€Å"I don’t care what you think, when he comes I’ll leave and won’t even turn back and look at you, he’ll love me, he won’t be like you†¦Ã¢â‚¬  Words spoken by me when I was barely 10 yearsRead MoreSo Much Social Networking Essay574 Words   |  3 Pagessites available to us. Some we probably don’t even know about, while new ones are in the process of getting made. The most popular ones that we all use to present day, in no particular order, are Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest, and maybe many more, but the one I want to talk about in this essay is my favorite one of all, Tumblr. Some of us might have a Tumblr account; some of us probably don’t even know what Tumblr is. Well, I would be delighted to tell you. Tumblr is a social networking site and

Sup Wumpy Free Essays

Prompt 2: According to the slide show I have developed an interest in many different foods and would like to try all of them except for the cinnamon. Cinnamon kills people. Cinnamon is too small for the human body to swallow and when trying to do it you choke to death, hence the â€Å"cinnamon challenge. We will write a custom essay sample on Sup Wumpy or any similar topic only for you Order Now † Otherwise I have no interest in any of the other foods on that list. There is one food, however, that I absolutely adore. Back in the old days my family always loved to go out for dinner. No matter what, it was what always happened. In fact one time I went to Denny’s and got a free shirt and meal because I went there almost every day. Denny’s isn’t just a place to eat. For me it is a way of life. I’m not the only one either. Tons of friends love Denny’s as much as I and sometimes we party together at Denny’s. Every time I go I order a grandslamwich with a side of hash browns and lemonade. It all tastes so sweet and delicious and savory that I almost never know when to stop eating. Sometimes when I order I just say the usual and everyone knows exactly what to get. It wasn’t always like that though. My dad, back in his youth, had always ordered me a grandslamwich even though I never liked it but after some time I grew attached to the mouthwatering treat. I would go to sleep every night with my window open and I would stare at the twinkling balls of light hiding up in the beautiful night sky†¦. wondering when the next encounter would happen†¦ the encounter with the restaurant of the gods. Now that I grow older and wiser, I realize that Denny’s does have some drawbacks. I assume that since Denny’s has no superior in the restaurant business, it cannot be all hugs and kisses, without even knowing anything about this I can prove it. Newton’s third Law States that â€Å"Every action has an equal and opposite reaction. † Therefore Denny’s cannot be simply amazing in every way. I did some research on this subject and found out that a grandslamwich is about 1500 calories. This is about the size of three big macs. That explains a lot since a big mac basically bows down at the feet of the almighty GRANDSLAMWICH!!! No matter what a grandslamwich will always be my favorite food. Prompt 4: Potato starch contains resistant starch,  and may be helpful in preventing colon cancer. According to this article, the potato actually has a very large effect on cancer, which I had assumed that it did. Potatoes are a staple in diets all over the world and it seems that they can even help prevent cancer! This is a very logical fact. Potatoes are as old as time itself and are especially important in the diet of the average American diet. If potatoes caused cancer a lot more people would be dead than just those who have already been unlucky enough to fall victim to this atrocity of diseases. Who ever thought about writing an article about this was a very deep thinker to ask whether or not potatoes of all things cause cancer. This was very interesting nevertheless even though I had started out expecting it to be terribly and agonizingly boring. Also if potatoes had vitamins in them (or whatever) that caused cancer, wouldn’t they be cooked out like the alcoholic content in cooking or even the vitamins that help prevent it? In the great words of Biff â€Å"C’mon think McFly think! † (If you don’t get the reference you are dead to me. ) There is a reason that potatoes help prevent cancer, the reason being Potato starch contains resistant starch. Resistant starch helps maintain healthy digestion and may be helpful in preventing colon cancer. Bacteria in the colon ferments resistant starches and produces short-chain fatty acids one of them being Butyrate. Butyrate also has anti-tumor effects because it seems to inhibit tumor cell development and causes tumor cell differentiation and cell death in colorectal cancer cells. How to cite Sup Wumpy, Essay examples

Saturday, April 25, 2020

Spatial Data Division of Abu Dhabi Municipality

The Spatial Data Division of Abu Dhabi: current strategic position The Spatial Data Division is part of a department responsible for Abu Dhabi’s municipal planning. In a nutshell, our office/division knows where the city is going in terms of plans, prospects and strategies for the future. Private individuals and organisations are some of the customers. This planning office has to provide internal innovations in order to effectively serve its customers.Advertising We will write a custom essay sample on Spatial Data Division of Abu Dhabi Municipality specifically for you for only $16.05 $11/page Learn More This office receives many data requests from customers (ordinary citizens, individual landowners, developers, private contractors, etc.) for certain projects or for businesses pertaining to land use. The division’s database is a depository of spatial maps, charts, statistics and valuable data and information ready for dissemination to citiz ens upon request. The process is the division’s â€Å"building block† and intangible asset which is weakening and needs improvement. Figure 1 Functional chart of Spatial Data Division under the Abu Dhabi Town Planning Sector This office offers several services ranging from issuance of documents containing data and information, maps and satellite pictures to land examination / investigation and surveying. Activities for the staff include planning, investigations of lands for ownership, and other spatial matters. The information and data are voluminous, as they include present information and background, which may be in the form of statistics, charts, maps, and so on.Advertising Looking for essay on business economics? Let's see if we can help you! Get your first paper with 15% OFF Learn More Information and data include land ownership, references, histories / backgrounds of lands in question, and any valuable information that may have been inputted befor e but which are significant in planning and creating a built environment (Department of Municipal Affairs: Abu Dhabi city municipality 2014). Important database contents include planning maps, aerial photographs and satellite images with their corresponding data and information, coordinates of lands, landmarks, and built environment, lands under litigations, and much more. Histories of lands are very important in building new structures, or in determining the usability of such lands. The voluminous information is also part of the Geographic Information Systems database that may be formulated for plans and strategies of government agencies concerned. Soft and hard copies of the information, such as maps, charts, and other forms, are available upon request. GIS is still in the process of application and may be fully operational sometime in the near future. There are many inputs coming from studies, researches, field inspections / investigations, representations, essays and narratives of histories or backgrounds of the different areas and sites within the Abu Dhabi municipality. Aspects of Operation Management The 4 Vs analysis Volume The Spatial Data Division has high volume of output. Tasks are repeated and the application of technology (GIS) can make the process fast and answerable to the demand. Researchers and investigators provide researches, papers and documents. Aside from words and numbers, the database contents are replete with aerial and satellite photographs. The staff retrieves these copies and photographs upon request from customers, and they are doing it over and over. Inputs are high and demands from customers are also high.Advertising We will write a custom essay sample on Spatial Data Division of Abu Dhabi Municipality specifically for you for only $16.05 $11/page Learn More Variety There is high variety with many activities. Skills nd technology are needed, because staffs have to perform several tasks like inspect ion, investigation, and many other inputs. Activities include retrieving data from the organisation’s database per the customers’ requests. Once these are retrieved from the database, the data and information are contained in a document. Teams also conduct inspections and land surveys. Data and statistics are some of the inputs. Variation Demand is predictable and constant. Resources are provided and can address the demand. Requests can be granted easily because the staff members are skilled in browsing the contents of the database. The members were trained how to retrieve data and print a hard copy. The members can predict the customers’ demand. They know what the customers want and how to meet their demands. Visibility How much of the copies will the customers really see? First, the customer will only be able to see a hard copy (document on a piece of paper) or digital copy (CD or USB). But the database which is contained in a software and computer cannot be s een by the customer. The process of requesting from the time the customer fills up the form may be seen and experienced by the customer. In other words, the customers experience the waiting time and delay of the request process. Figure 2 4  Vs Analysis for Spatial Data DivisionAdvertising Looking for essay on business economics? Let's see if we can help you! Get your first paper with 15% OFF Learn More The chart (4Vs analysis) shows that services are declining, with high demands from customers. There is low repetition and high unit cost because some personnel are doing one job repetitively. If this office can add technology, there will be high volume efficiency and the problem of low speed can be solved (Slack et al. 2013). Self-service are low volume in as much as this is not yet offered or not available. Demands are always high while service is low. Five performance objectives for the Spatial Data Division Quality Copies contain all necessary data and information per customers’ requests; contents are quality oriented Speed Total time customers wait; short waiting time Dependability (Trustworthiness) Keeping the customers asking for more Flexibility All requests are considered Costs The lowest fees Quality is the foundation of any organisation. Quality of service and quality of the contents of the requested copies from the organisation’s database are s ignificant in the transaction. Quality does not only mean conformance to customers’ requests but it also refers to the accuracy and reliability of the contents, the data and the maps (Beyond.UK: big five 2013). Speed refers to ‘just being fast’, meaning, the time the requests are made to the time the ‘product’ (data and maps) is received by the customer. Speed is a prime concern of the division I am in, but speed has remained a goal in as much as change is difficult to introduce. Change has to deal with culture and tradition which are ingrained in the people. Political will is also a concern. Dependability (trustworthiness) means the division is on time in the delivery of service, and customers keep coming back because they feel and know that their requests will be addressed to. Flexibility in the Division’s operations means how it can answer to the requirements of the requests even if it requires too much work for the staff, or change the pro cedure to conform to the request. Costs should be the lowest expense for the customers since this office is for public service, but the value of the service must be the highest. Figure 3 Polar diagram for a three-year series My personal survey for this office is that the Division’s performance has been declining for the three-year series, with respect to the five areas of performance objectives: ‘quality, speed, dependability, flexibility, and costs’. However, quality has always been top priority as it got high percentage for the different periods. In summary, the division needs overhaul (changes and innovations to make service better) in order to improve the organisational performance and meet clients’ specifications and requests. Analysis of the organisation’s current strategy The current strategy needs innovations and changes. It is not clear when this method was started, although we can quickly surmise that this has been the case ever since the Spatial Data Division was established to answer to the needs of customers wanting spatial data, along with pictures and maps. The database has been established and it is undeniable that it is very valuable to private individuals and business people. As always been stated here, culture and tradition influenced how systems work and are worked out. The usual problem in our division is the long process and the delay in addressing the many requests from the customers. The process is repetitive and can be considered traditional and time-consuming, at risk of corruption and red tape. Our aim of speed of delivery has long been a goal but cannot be fully accomplished, because of lack of effective strategy and coordination, perhaps. One of the problems is that the request form cannot be sent online. Online requests must be part of the processes to eliminate the long delay in the requests. Online negotiation is effective in providing speed of delivery of service. This process can be enhanced through personal contact, i.e. the requesting party can conduct online and may have to appear to the officer concerned if need be. But important transactions can be conducted online. Even map requests and other information can be processed online, including payment. First the customer goes to the customer service to fill up the request form and inform the office of the request’s rationale and the coverage area of the project or study. Then customer service sends this request to the Executive Director to register and send it to the division manager. Next, the division manager sends the request to the head of section, and the head of section assigns the task to an employee. When he has done this, the employee should submit the validated request to the head of section again for approval, until the customer obtains the request, finally. The customer has to wait for the long tedious process. The request form passes through several persons before it reaches the personnel/section he ad responsible for validating the request. The traditional method or process in our department is the old-fashioned way of delivering service to the people, because this has been the method we have been used to ever since I was employed by my department. There must be a way to deliver service without the unnecessary steps. This means we can shortcut the process without sacrificing the service quality and jeopardising organisational performance. This current strategy reflects the norms and community behavior of the people (Matthews Marzec 2012). In fact, it is part of our identity. We look at it as ingrained in our collective spirit, that is why it is difficult to modify but it is possible to improve. The workflow demonstrates that there is quality, although there is lack of it, and there has been no change for the past several years. The process is an ‘old system’. The managers and the government need political will to institute reforms. A simple IT application can sol ve the problem. IT application can simplify the process and total quality management can enhance effective and fast service delivery. The position of the two managers, the Executive Director and Division Director Manager, can be merged into one position. This practice demonstrates the ‘old system’. An OM theory worthy of note is the theory of production, which refers to inputs and outputs. Inputs produce outputs but various inputs can be used to produce several outputs. Inputs can be analysed to describe how costs and outputs are met and how to maximise outputs. The theory of production helps determine the value of the input-output processes (Gupta Boyd 2008). The principle behind this theory involves the introduction of utilities, and utilities refer to labor which in essence is production. Consequently, production is the making of inputs into products or services. In the context of the work area in question, the Spatial Data Division of the Abu Dhabi municipality, in puts do not necessarily mean tangible product but can be in the form of training, communication, and improvement or development of the website of the Abu Dhabi municipality, particularly the Spatial Data Division. A detailed evaluative investigation using the application of Operations Management analysis tools, theory, concepts and principles In the current process, the customer goes to the customer service to fill forms or requests. The process of validation is time-consuming. Before the request goes to the person responsible of validating or studying the request, the customer has to pass through the Executive Director and the Division Director Manager, then to the head of section, who passes the job to the head of unit. An employee is assigned to check on the request, and the job is checked by Quality Assurance. The paper trail goes back to the head of section and finally to the customer service. Additional inputs can produce good results or output for this division, which needs m ore coordination, communication and training of personnel in order to be effective, and to erase surplus, surplus in the form of personnel (who are doing nothing), or inadequate processes. The efficient use of time should be introduced in the division and not on accumulating more time before the customer gets his/her requests. Figure 4 Current Workflow The current workflow demonstrates that the request has to pass through the office of the Executive Director Manager and the Division Director Manager before it goes to the Head of Section and the Head of Unit. The steps involving the Executive Director and Division Director Manager can be eliminated, albeit temporary, because they still have to approve the request. But the approval should only be after the Head of Section and Head of Unit shall have done their part. The division needs more thinking and planning to make the processes more effective. The application of TQM, the theory of constraints, and supply chain management enables an organisation to have systems thinking, integration of the various functions, and a more horizontal structure. The operations manager will be able to introduce effective teams and participate in a collaborative decision making process with the team members (Gupta Boyd 2008, p. 991). In manufacturing, they have this just-in-time and the application of teams. JIT and effective teams can be done in my division. Service will then become very effective. Total quality management (TQM) is defined by Deming (as cited in Coman Romen, 1995, p. 1404) as ‘conformance to requirements,’ which means an office has to comply with the customers’ requests per the customers’ specifications and at the soonest possible time. ‘Requirements’ means what the customers want. Coman and Romen (1995, p. 1404) adds that the difference between meeting the needs of the customers and following requirements hinder effective service. One of the reasons for lack of effective service being offered by an organisation is tradition. Tradition becomes the law which should be followed to the letter, and so quality service is sacrificed. Tradition is ingrained in the context of the Spatial Data Division and is very difficult to extract and heal. But, as they say, time will heal. It only needs for the managers and people behind the system, who are traditionalists themselves, to dispense with what they are used to doing routine and be acquainted with new principles and new technology, which are really indispensable in this age of globalisation and high-speed Internet. The division also needs total quality. TQ is a philosophy based on principles, practices, and techniques, which should focus on customers, continuous improvement, and teamwork. Each of the principles has several practices or activities that may collect information from customers and analyse processes. Techniques are also provided in applying the practices. Emphasis on customer needs, or customer f ocus, is the most important. The objective of satisfying customers is a basic requirement in total quality (TQ) and is a part of the organisation’s goal to design and provide products and services that meet customers’ needs (Dean Bowen 1994, p. 394). Another theory we can apply is system dynamics (Grà ¶ÃƒÅ¸ler, Thun, Milling 2008). System dynamics, which is further expounded at the conclusion of this paper, is a ‘structural theory’ which can be applied to the structural problem that causes service delays in the Spatial Data Division transactions. This theory is based on a concept that ‘the structure of social systems is generally characterized by feedback loops, accumulation processes, and delays between cause and effect’ (Grà ¶ÃƒÅ¸ler, Thun, Milling, 2008, p. 374). System dynamics, which is comprised of conceptualisation and experiments, is integrated in many kinds of systems. It aims to design formal models and generate reaction for a c ertain period of time. System dynamics theories result in real-world objects which offer ‘a lens to observe and to understand the represented system, but not a description of the total system or of all social systems’ (Grà ¶ÃƒÅ¸ler, Thun, Milling, 2008, p. 374). Concepts in this theory are: feedback loops, accumulation processes, and delays between cause and effect. These concepts are all important in oprations management situations, most especially the Spatial Data Division. We can provide an example here. If in this organisation, we have to apply improvement program we can use the feedback loop which influences worker motivation. Improvement program decreases employee motivation since there are fears that employees are made redundant with a successful program already introduced (Grà ¶ÃƒÅ¸ler, Thun, Milling, 2008). Critical discussion and recommendations Since this is a government agency or department, the effective solution is to shorten the process and the waitin g time, and also avoid â€Å"red tape†. Red tape means unnecessary steps in the process of delivering service to the people who are the customers, and the process can also lead to corruption. This activity can be avoided by providing speed in the delivery of service, which is what the people in a democratic situation needs. Shortening the process does not mean bypassing department or section heads. The effective way is for the customer to fill up the request form in the office of Section Head who will validate the request for a project. If the section head approves the request, then the process of approval can start right up to the Executive Director. The process is reduced to two or three steps and may just take up to one day or a few hours to complete. If more studies are needed for the project, it may only take a short time before the request can be approved or denied. The website should be developed and improved, enhance the features by providing an interactive communicat ion between the department and the customers. The potential costs in not solving the problem are waste of time and resources involving taxpayers’ money. The cost of building a database such as this division is no easy feat. It involved government resources. Much more of these resources will be lost if changes are not provided in the soonest possible time. The office and the government as a whole will also lose its credibility and trust from the people. Some inferences of spatial data are still unknown and are in the process of verification (Fotheringham Brunsdon 2004). If these are not verified and investigated, they might forever be lost. Another practical solution to the problem of the Spatial Data Division of Abu Dhabi municipality is the application of Systems Dynamics. This is a method to show, replicate, and reproduce active systems, like our organisation which is just a division or department of the Abu Dhabi municipality. Brunswick (1956 as cited in Grà ¶ÃƒÅ¸ler, Th un, Milling, 2008, p. 374) formulated the ‘lens theory’ which states that ‘theories are like lenses that influence the perception of phenomena’. System dynamics also refers to articles and journals with empirical evidence about the relationships of factors in social systems. The background for a certain system influences the future development of that system, which is characterised by time delays (Grà ¶ÃƒÅ¸ler, Thun, Milling, 2008). The ‘product’ in applying system dynamics theory and method to the parameters of the Spatial Data Division are, still, theories but they represent linkages between the objects as they become part of the real world. This means the result is improvement in service and the elimination of time delays in providing service. Good systems dynamics models are considered authentic representations of specific problems, for example, the improvement in the processes inside the Spatial Data Division. The application of Informa tion Technology (Geographic Information Systems) should be perfected to ensure and improve quality service. GIS provides a database for keeping, management, and recovery of higher volume of geographical statistics (Alkobaisi et al. 2012, p. 30). GIS is composed of layers or elements and the subject of the information data, for example roads and lands. Coordinates provide the relation of the layers, so that when layers are in the same coordinates, a relationship is established. Yu and Peuquet (2009) argued that ‘object, field, and time’ are three basic elements for representation of surveyed environmental dynamics. The new GIS should be more than the current data-centred paradigm to detect geographic representation in a knowledge rich period. Figure 5 Proposed workflow In this proposed workflow, time and process are shortened. The customer who signs the request form at the customer service is directed to the head of section, with the Executive Manager Director and Divis ion Manager informed and their opinion being sought. At the same time, the paper trail goes to the head of unit who passes this to quality check and quality assurance and then back to the customer service. The process is already shortened. The division needs to work as a team, or formulate teams. In the current workflow, the system seems not working because the personnel are not members of a team. Work teams save time and allow the process to work for the customers’ needs and conform to their specifications. Communication is enhanced in the team. Effective communication will not allow flaws in the system, but it allows the system to flow for the team members to work for the success of the organisation and the customers. The Spatial Data Division personnel and managers need motivation through training and development. The team members have to experience continuous training to enhance their skill and capability. Training, capability building and motivation will harness their fu ll potential. The managers and the members working as a team will erase the ‘boss and subordinate’ mindset and make this department successful in serving the people of Abu Dhabi and beyond. References Alkobaisi, S, Bai, W, VojtÃ"â€"chovskà ½, P, Narayanappa, S 2012, ‘An interactive framework for spatial joins: a statistical approach to data analysis in GIS’, Geoinformatica, vol. 16, pp. 329-355, via EBSCOHOST database. Beyond.UK: big five 2013. Web. Coman, A. Ronen, B. 1995, ‘Information technology in operations management: a theory-of-constraints approach’, International Journal of Production Research, vol. 33, no. 5, pp. 1403-1415, via EBSCOHOST database. Dean, J Bowen, D 1994, ‘Management theory and total quality: improving research and practice through theory development’, Academy of Management Review, vol. 19, no. 3, via ProQuest Research Library. Department of Municipal Affairs: Abu Dhabi city municipality 2014. Web. Foth eringham, A. Brunsdon, C 2004, ‘Some thoughts on inference in the analysis of spatial data’, Internal Journal of Geographical Information Science, vol. 18, no. 5, pp. 447-457, via EBSCOHOST database. Grà ¶ÃƒÅ¸ler, A, Thun, J, Milling, P 2008, ‘System dynamics as a structural theory in operations management’, Production and Operations Management, vol. 17, no. 3, pp. 373-384, via EBSCOHOST database. Gupta, M Boyd, L 2008, ‘Theory of constraints: a theory for operations management’, International Journal of Operations Production Management, vol. 28, no. 10, pp. 991-1012, via EBSCOHOST database. Matthews, R Marzec, P 2012, ‘Social capital, a theory for operations management: a systematic review of the evidence’, International Journal of Production Research, vol. 50, no. 24, pp. 7081-7099, via EBSCOHOST database. Slack, N, Brandon-Jones, A, Johnston, R, Betts, A 2013, Operations and process management: principles and practice for strategic impact (3rd edn), Pearson Ltd., London. Yu, C Peuquet, D 2009, ‘A geo agent-based framework for knowledge-oriented representation: embracing social rules in GIS’, International Journal of Geographical Information Science, vol. 23, no. 7, pp. 923-960, via EBSCOHOST database. This essay on Spatial Data Division of Abu Dhabi Municipality was written and submitted by user Anderson Everett to help you with your own studies. You are free to use it for research and reference purposes in order to write your own paper; however, you must cite it accordingly. You can donate your paper here.

Wednesday, March 18, 2020

Recipe for an Indispensable Executive Assistant [Infographic]

Recipe for an Indispensable Executive Assistant [Infographic] This executive assistant infographic from Convene is adorable and right on the mark! Since its already worth about a thousand words, Ill just call out a few of my favorite elements:Supersonic HearingThis is the benevolent flipside to the gate-keeper function. Sure, your job is to keep knucklehead stuff off your bosss desk, but you also get to bring the concerns of your colleagues to their attention, which can improve conditions for everybody.Battery PackHaving an extra battery in my bag to recharge my phone on the go has already changed my life. Especially if you have a special phone for work-related tasks, invest in an external charger (see if you can get it reimbursed as a business expense, even!). Theyre smaller and smaller every day, but lifesavers in the clutch.Titanium SpineKnowing how to stand up for yourself (and your boss), who to stand up to, and when, is a crucial soft skill for an executive assistant. Youve got to make decisions quickly and be able to defend them (though you should also maintain flexibility to accept constructive criticism when appropriate).

Sunday, March 1, 2020

Compelling Topics for Research Papers

Compelling Topics for Research Papers Compelling Topics for Research Papers Finding a compelling topic for your research paper is a step by step process; dont rush and reap the rewards Call in Ontario for assistance. Challenge and Engage The best thing to do is choose a topic that interests and challenges you simultaneously. It shouldn’t be something that’s too difficult to handle; dont bite off more than you can chew. The topic should be thought provoking and grab the readers interest immediately. Next, consider the scope of the essay. If the topic you choose is too narrow, it may be difficult to find research material. If the topic is too broad, it runs the risk of seeming too boring for the reader. Research, Research Do plenty of investigation on the topic. At this stage you’ll discover how compelling the topic truly can be, and save time if you decide to scrap it for a better idea. If you have a general idea in mind, research anything that could be associated with it to learn more and create an interesting essay. For example, if you choose to write about farming, consider other topics such as free trade agreements, weather patterns, transportation, and fertilizers. What’s the Angle? Choosing a topic almost always involves choosing an â€Å"angle.† Ask yourself, â€Å"What am I trying to prove with this essay?† Take into account historical, geographical, and sociological factors. This will help clarify your topic and its focus. Your topic may require final approval from the professor or teacher. Make sure you meet all established guidelines before proceeding with more writing and research. If you need help can make sure you finish your project on time. Please give us a

Friday, February 14, 2020

Seminar Essay Example | Topics and Well Written Essays - 250 words - 1

Seminar - Essay Example People with different levels of investment can contribute to the development of such tourist and recreational facilities, thus making the culture all the more richer and fruitful both for the investors and the tourists. Making the tourism sustainable requires a prudent and in-depth analysis of the specialties of the geographic and climatic conditions particular to the country, and utilizing them in the development of tourist facilities in a way that will continue to yield benefit. A good example of sustainable tourism is provided by Dubai whose emphasis in construction has been on high-rise buildings that ensure that the tourists always have ample space to stay despite the limited surface area of the city. Besides, the city has facilities like ice rink in the midst of a desert to provide the tourists with a holistic experience that combines the elements of the coldest to the warmest places on Earth. Therefore, diversifying the tourism industry culturally as well as making it affordab le for tourists of all economic statuses are some ways of making tourism sustainable and more